1

Countdown to kickoff: Grizzlies begin fall camp on Aug. 6

The first scrimmage of fall is scheduled for Monday, August 14 at 4 p.m. (GoGriz.com)

The Montana Grizzlies’ football season officially gets underway on Sunday, August 6, when the 2017 squad reports for fall camp, with the first practice of the year coming shortly after that on Tuesday, August 8.

Third-year head coach Bob Stitt and his staff will run the Grizzlies through a schedule of 20 practice sessions and three scrimmages during the month of August in the lead-up to the season-opener against Valparaiso on Sept. 2 in Missoula.

The first scrimmage of fall is scheduled for Monday, August 14 at 4 p.m. The Griz will scrimmage again five days later on the morning of Saturday, August 19 at 8:30 a.m. Both are open to the public

The final scrimmage will be a closed-door tune up on Thursday, August 24 at 3 p.m. ahead of the 22nd annual Great Griz Encounter in downtown Missoula’s Caras Park. Fans will have the chance to meet the Grizzlies, and collect autographs from their favorite players at the preseason pep rally.

The Great Griz Encounter is held in conjunction with the Missoula Downtown Association’s weekly “Downtown Tonight” festival. The fun is set to begin at 5:30 p.m. with the Griz taking the stage at 6:30 p.m.

All practices and scrimmages will take place at Washington-Grizzly Stadium. Practices are open to Quarterback Club members but closed to the general public.  Media members are welcome at practice for the first 15 minutes, with the next 15 minutes open for film/photo.

The Griz will, for the most part, practice early in the morning to avoid the heat of the day, with team lifting sessions, positional meetings and film review in the afternoon.

Following the team scrimmage on the morning of August 19, the team will run through the annual photo and media day. Players and coaches will be available for interviews at 11:00 a.m. following the team photo session.

The first weekly press conference of the season will be held on Monday, August 28 at 2:30 p.m. in the Adams Center Sky Club ahead of the season opener against Valparaiso.

Full season and single game tickets for the 2017 Montana season are on sale now and can be purchased at griztix.com, the Adams Center Ticket Office, or any GrizTix outlet.

2017 Montana Football Fall Camp Schedule

Sunday, August 6
Players report

Monday, August 7
Equipment fitting/Team meetings

Tuesday, August 8
8:15 AM: Practice #1 (Helmets)

Wednesday, August 9
8:15 AM: Practice #2 (Helmets)

Thursday, August 10
8:00 AM: Practice #3 (Helmets & Shoulder Pads)

Friday, August 11
8:00 AM: Practice #4 (Helmets & Shoulder Pads)

Saturday, August 12
8:00 AM: Practice #5 (Full Pads)

Sunday, August 13
Film

Monday, August 14
4:00 PM: Scrimmage (Practice #6)

Tuesday, August 15
2:30 PM: Practice #7 (Full Pads)

Wednesday, August 16
8:00 AM: Practice #8 (Full Pads)

Thursday, August 17
8:00 AM: Practice #9 (Full Pads)

Friday, August 18
8:00 AM: Practice #10 (Full Pads)

Saturday, August 19
8:30 AM: Scrimmage (Practice #11)
11:00 AM: Media Day

Sunday, August 20
Off

Monday, August 21
8:00 AM: Practice #12 (Full Pads)

Tuesday, August 22
8:00 AM: Practice #13 (Full Pads)

Wednesday, August 23
8:00 AM: Practice #14 (Full Pads)

Thursday, August 24
3:00 PM: Closed scrimmage (Practice #15)
6:30 PM: Great Griz Encounter

Friday, August 25
2:30 PM: Practice #16 (Full Pads)

Saturday, August 26
8:00 AM: Practice #17 (Full Pads)

Sunday, August 27
Film

Monday, August 28
Off

Tuesday, August 29
3:30 PM: Practice #18 (Full Pads)

Wednesday, August 30
3:30 PM: Practice #19 (Full Pads)

Thursday, August 31
First Day of Classes
3:30 PM: Practice #20 (Full Pads)

Friday, September 1
Pregame

Saturday, September 2
Montana vs. Valparaiso – 1 p.m.