It would be an understatement of epic proportions to say legendary Montana quarterback Dave Dickenson is having a good week.

In just his third season as head coach, Dickenson led Calgary to its first Grey Cup championship since 2014 on Sunday, a 27-16 win over the Ottawa Redblacks in Edmonton to take the Canadian Football League's Super Bowl.

"It's big. I mean, as a starting quarterback, you just don't feel right unless you can win one. I don't think my life would have been the same without a head coach title as well," said Dickenson following the game, his first win in the title game in three-straight trips.

"This first win is sure sweet," he added. "You want to see the view from the top, and we couldn't get it done the last two years."

The win puts the cherry to the top of an already spectacular career, giving Dickenson a championship at every level of football.

In high school, he won two state championships at C.M. Russell in Great Falls.

As a quarterback at Montana, he guided the Griz to the 1995 national championship and set numerous still-standing school and conference records before earning a place in the Grizzly Sports Hall of Fame.

As a professional player in the CFL, Dickenson won three Grey Cup championships and was named the MVP of the 2006 championship, eventually earning a spot in the Canadian Football Hall of Fame as well.

With the win over Ottawa Dickenson has now claimed his first championship as head coach, achieving the highest levels of success at nearly every stop of his career.

And a week from Tuesday, Dickenson will cap his remarkable week with one of the highest honors possible in the sport as he travels to New York to be officially inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday, Dec. 4 at the 61st National Football Foundation Annual Awards Dinner.

Dickenson is in elite company as a member of the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018, entering the hall in Atlanta alongside Trevor Cobb (Rice, RB, 1989-92), Kerry Collins (Penn State, QB, 1991-94), Dana Howard (Illinois, LB, 1991-94), Calvin Johnson (Georgia Tech, WR, 2004-06), Paul Palmer (Temple, RB, 1983-86), Ed Reed (Miami [Fla.], DB, 1998-01), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, OT, 1995-98), Aaron Taylor (Nebraska, C/OG, 1994-97), Charles Woodson (Michigan, DB, 1995-97 ), Coach Frank Beamer (Murray State, Virginia Tech), Coach Mack Brown (Appalachian State, Tulane, North Carolina, Texas), and Coach Mel Tjeerdsma (Austin College [Texas], Northwest Missouri State).

Fans can tune in to watch Dickenson be honored at the NFF Award Dinner Ceremony from 8:30 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. ESTvia a live stream on ESPN3.

A live-clean HD satellite feed with a 30-minute buffer before and after, courtesy of CBS Newspath, may also be found at Galaxy 16 Transponder 4C; Downlink 11775V; Data Rate 8.912; Symbol Rate 4.0; FEC 3/4.

The feed can also be accessed via The Switch at FB-SW TX-01 (also called NORTH N029),25megs ASI. You may also contact your news service to request specific footage. Permission is granted for "news purposes only" during the customary 48-hour window. Satellite Trouble Shooting Contact is Phil Marwill at 917-579-4256.


Also presented at the NFF Awards Dinner are the winners of the William V. Campbell Trophy, and the 2018 NFF Major awards.

The 2018 2018 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class & Campbell Trophy Finalists will be announced live between 8:40 and 9:00 p.m. during the Dinner ceremony. The finalists, comprised of the 2018 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, include Kenneth Brinson (Army West Point), Taryn Christion (South Dakota State), De'Arius Christmas (Grambling State), D'Cota Dixon (Wisconsin), Ryan Finley (North Carolina State), Piercen Harnish (Saint Francis [Ind.]), Trace McSorley (Penn State), Dalton Risner (Kansas State), Max Scharping (Northern Illinois), Eric Stevenson (Wheaton [Ill.]), Easton Stick (North Dakota State), Drue Tranquill (Notre Dame) and Christian Wilkins (Clemson).

The presentations of the NFF Major Awards will also take place during the Dinner ceremony and can be captured via the satellite feed. The 2018 NFF Major Award recipients include Atlanta Hall Management Chairman and College Football Hall of Fame inductee from Dartmouth Murry Bowden (NFF Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football Award); longtime voice of the Texas A&M Aggies Dave South (NFF Chris Schenkel Award for excellence in broadcasting); retired Yale athletics director Thomas Beckett and current Harvard athletics director Bob Scalise (co-recipients of NFF John L. Toner Award for excellence in athletics administration); and Sun Belt Conference Commissioner Karl Benson, Allstate Sugar Bowl CEO Paul Hoolahan, NFF Accountant and Spielman, Koenigsberg & Parker Partner Jonathan B. Taylor, NFF General Counsel and Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP Partner Richard Young (co-recipients of the NFF Legacy Award).